ambiera home ambiera home

Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Create a new account, Search, or Login:
Name:  Password:
Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Feature requests and bug reports
easy reqeust/s
Author Text

blackwater
Registered User
Quote
2018-10-12 18:40:33

I think these things could be fixed easily, so i ask for:

1. Most software with an opening screen has the option to not just open a new file, or example file (as CC has at the moment) but ALSO the ability to open your most recent file/s

2. Settings: A tickbox to make CC remember the last settings for the editor window (like if you always work with an extra viewport and never uses the prefab window, etc.) A ticked box could be default for remembering settings. An unticked box for todays default setting.

3. When 3rd person camera is choosen to follow an object, there is a possibility to set the target height. This can currently ONLY be done in the behaviour section of the camera by entering digits. But the viewport mode suggests it's possible to do it by selecting the target box and move it. And yes, it moves, but it's not working. Sometimes I forget it, but it can be much more painful to understand this as a newbie. (Confusing, as this is possible with the directional light). So, why not give the user that option? :-)

4. Filenames and directories: When importing an object, lets say "table.obj", it's listed in the Scen graph as table. Thats fine. But lets say you have'nt worked on this ccb for a while, it would be good to know where that file is on your hard drive in case you'd like to edit it.

Now lets make this even more confusing, to emphasize even stronger why this is important to be solved: In CC there is a phantastic option to replace an existing object mesh with a completely different file. So lets assume you'd like to replace this table with an object named "green_rabbit.obj". It works BUT the name stays the same - it's not changed to green_rabbit - no, it's still "table".
THIS can confuse the hell out of me!


niko
Moderator
Quote
2018-10-15 09:33:40

About 1: CopperCube has that, use File -> Open Recent file
About 2: Yes, this is on the list already, it just haven't made it into the editor yet.
About 3: True
About 4:Yes, that's true

Thanks for the suggestions!


blackwater
Registered User
Quote
2018-10-16 00:08:13

1, Oh yes, I know. But not on the first opening screen. So, one has to choose "open new project" or "open example file", then go to the menu/fie, find recent file and click on a "are you sure you'd like to shut down this project", before the file opens. It's a bit tedious...

:-)


niko
Moderator
Quote
2018-10-16 07:49:47

Ah, ok :)


blackwater
Registered User
Quote
2018-11-02 22:06:39

5. The ability to lock an objects position - a tick box like what we have for visibility
(and why not move those tick boxes for lock and visbility so that they are next to each other and in the scene graph explorer, next to the mesh icon? The advantage? Easier to select several objects at a time and we get a better overview of which objects are visible/locked and not, by just looking at the scene graph)



niko
Moderator
Quote
2018-11-05 07:56:51

Hm, interesting, would be an idea. Not sure how to make this possible without cluttering the interface, but maybe using a context menu or similar.


blackwater
Registered User
Quote
2018-11-14 23:02:22

6. I've said it before and now once again: Regarding variables. If there are several variables created, they are tricky to remember when referring to them. Also, sometimes it seams you've done everything correct but something is not workting. After hours and some times days, the error is found: a variable that was misspelled somewhere. (Lets say it should be "RedLight" and by accident it was "RedLght".

Suggestion:
As when there are several animations to choose from in a drop down list. I would ask for the same with variables. (save them in a database to be reached from a dropdown-menu, when changing/referring to them)

This would make work in CC a lot easier, not only for those that are dyslectic.
:-)




blackwater
Registered User
Quote
2018-11-14 23:07:22

7. The Debug Console is sometimes a bit frustrating as it is a bit unprecise. As in this example (see image), which node, or which property - a hint here would be valuable :-)




blackwater
Registered User
Quote
2018-11-14 23:37:51

8. Behaviours :-)

A) It's messy when there are several of them. They could be more precise - for instance: mention which key on each "on key press". And for the "Do something after x seconds", add "rotate", if that is what it is doing.

B) The behaviours could also be colour sorted or similar.

C) The window in itself can NOT be expanded, which makes it possible only to view 5 behaviours at a glance. Sometimes, when there are lots more than five, say 15, one would like to have a better overview of all of them.

D) There is sometimes the need to go through soooooo many windows when for example checking if a certain variable is on/off and then do something, Error-checking is therefore a pain. Also, if you change the name on a variable - it can be HELL to try to find all of them in all windows/different behaviours and sometimes also on different nodes
If I could wish for something, I'd very much hope for a solution om this one!

One suggestion is to (also, as a complement) somehow "translate" what is written in all these windows to "code" which can be seen AND edited in a separate window.
Lets say a break down of one behaviour could look like this in a separate "code" window:
--
When key is pressed (X)
and variable left is = 1
and variable water is = 0
then variable right = 1
and animation for node (human) is (swim)
--

E) What I'm also missing is the ability to sort the behaviours in the window. Lets say there are nine of them, it's sometimes very useful to be able to move for example nr 6 tp the first postition - the top to find it easier, or move nr 2 to the 9th place beacuse it "belongs" together with nr 7 and nr 8.




blackwater
Registered User
Quote
2018-11-16 18:00:10

9. The editor - a new view setting

I'd like to have the option in the editor to easily turn off/on all signs, lamps and cameras. This way, we could:

A) Get at better general overview and for example see the changes we make with diffrent light settings (without all these being in the way), etc.
B) Select objects easier when it's really cluttered with stuff

There is a Swedish saying that goes: I can't see the forest because of all the trees, which almost explains the problem in this image, where I can't see the light and the lamp for all the lights!

See image:



Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "Inte?national" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Forum Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   





Software: Ambiera Light Forum. © 2008-2019 Nikolaus Gebhardt, Ambiera e.U.