Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Ambiera Forum > RocketCake
RocketCake Pro Version

danielp
Registered User
Quote
2021-09-26 14:20:48

Hi there,

is it possible to open pro version created *.rcd files with the free version?
I am considering getting the pro version for creating websites but don't see any reason for the person managing them...

Best regards
Daniel


niko
Moderator
Quote
2021-09-26 15:20:19

Yes, that's possible.


danielp
Registered User
Quote
2021-09-26 17:06:57

Good know... Thanks a lot...
I have quite a few questions left... Which may as well be feature requests or stupidity on my part...😅...
So I'll dig a little deeper into RocketCake and see if I can sort them out myself....

Best regards
Daniel


danielp
Registered User
Quote
2021-09-29 11:17:48

Hello again...

unfortunately there seems to be no way to create global elements inside Rocketcake like Headers, predefined text styles and so on...
This makes changing the style of a website a cumbersome process.
A workaround outline I thought of is as follows...

Create element using Rocketcake (for preview only), copy code (for text only) to an external style sheet e.g. general.css, define it (is that a class?) and call it from there when designing a website in RocketCake...For this I'd use a template page within the project...
Handling responsiveness of the website may get more complicated this way but I will probably only use this for font / colour management (e.g. text, headers... links are not necessary since RocketCake makes it possible to define link styles globally)...not for containers...

I am pretty new to website coding thus I am not sure if there are more obvious or neater ways to do that...Comments and suggestions are highly appreciated...

Best regards
Daniel


erik
Registered User
Quote
2021-09-29 14:53:57

I think the feature you are looking for is master pages. See here: https://www.ambiera.com/rocketca...

Responsiveness should be handled almost automatically by RocketCake, you only need to adjust it sometimes with the breakpoint editor.


danielp
Registered User
Quote
2021-09-29 15:46:38

Thanks for your response.

I am using a master page already.
How would you define say, 3 types of headings in a master page and how would you call them in a sub page using that master page?
Doesn't the master page only hold the layout and elements you want to be present on all sub sites of the website?
That doesn't help me in changing e.g. the font for a predefined element on all pages containing that element...
As I wrote above I don't want to use that for container styling - only font, font-colour, font size etc...

I need for example 3 different headings. What I need to know is a way of creating those for global use. Thus changing them in only one place for all pages where those are in use...

Daniel


erik
Registered User
Quote
2021-09-30 08:05:56

Hm, I don't think there is a way to do that. At least I don't know one.


danielp
Registered User
Quote
2021-10-09 23:44:53

I just bought the pro version and tried a few ways to create global headers within rocketcake. Believe it or not, I found a way to do so... 😁...
If there is any interest in how to do it I will post it.

Best regards Daniel


niko
Moderator
Quote
2021-10-11 07:25:14

Wow, interesting. Yes, it would be probably nice if you could shortly how you did that :)


rsifontes
Registered User
Quote
2021-10-15 16:24:37

Hello Danielp, your discovery is very interesting. I am interested in knowing how you did it. Can you share it with us? We will surely all appreciate your contribution. Thanks and success in your projects.


danielp
Registered User
Quote
2021-10-15 20:15:09

Hi there,

sorry for the late answer...I've been pretty busy lately...

First of all...to do that you need the Pro Version otherwise you can't insert any code.
Second..you'll need to use a masterpage where your global headings definition resides.
Please bare in my mind that I'm using the german version of RocketCake.
Also bare in mind, that I'm far from being a web coder or anything alike...

So lets get on
First of all I defined a global colors and new class in the header of the masterpage.


<style>
:root {
--myRosa: C37AA0;
--myBrown: 5B321E;
--myGrey: 646464;
}
.myHeading1 {
font-size:20pt;
font-family:Georgia, serif;
color:var(--myBrown);
text-align:left;
text-shadow: 1px 1px 2px rgba(128, 128, 128, 0.607843)
}
</style>


The global colors are not neccessary - just convenience and to try stuff out. so ignore the root stuff and replace "var(--myRosa) with a color code or name.
Whats important are the declaration and definition of the class .myHeading1 (or what ever name you like).

Now create a page and drag a heading (h1 in my case) onto it.
The code looks something like this.

<h1 id="heading_7f0e379e">this is a heading</h1>


Important don't adjust anything else in this heading but the text it-self. You may change the properties of the container but be careful with changes regarding anything text related at the top of RocketCake. Rocketcake may insert another <span class=....> and will overwrite locally what you have defined globally.
RocketCake unfortunately only lets you insert code at certain points. I was not successful using "additional css-styles" (How do I use that??) but choosing "additional attributes" (I hope that is what its called in english).

<h1 id="heading_7f0e379e"></h1><span class="myHeading1">this is a heading</h1>


What I actually insert is this:
></h1><span class="myHeading1"
Thus I am closing the first h1 with the ">"....
Then I open a new span tag with "<span class="myHeading1"
My inserted span tag is closed by the original ">" from the h1 tag.
Rocketcake won't let you put a </span> at the end of the heading but it seems to be self-closing....does anybody know if thats the case? From looking at the Source code of the uploaded side it looks like it...

This way I am kinda tricking RocketCake (or better html) into using the properties defined in my class. If I were to just include it as an additional attribute it wouldn't work since an "id" (in this case: id=heading_7f...) is stronger than a class.
This way we'll create a heading with globally defined properties...

If anybody would help me to find the down sides to this methods or why I shouldn't do that - please do so....

Best regards
Daniel


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "?nternational" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Possible Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   






Copyright© Ambiera e.U. all rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Imprint | Contact