Ambiera Forum

Discussions, Help and Support.

Create a new account, Search, or Login:
Name: Password:
Ambiera Forum > CopperCube > Help with CopperCube
Lightmapping question
Author Text

dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-20 12:06:39

Apparently, I've needed a lightmapping for my project (because I wanted to make some indoors levels). But I had pretty much problems with it.

All the screenshots that I left here shows a test room that I quicly made in Blender with lightmapping done with standart CopperCube settings. And here is the problem:

The thing is that those lines that you can see here wasn't meant to even be in there. In fact, they are going along the grid of level itself:

And this is the main problem. There is, however, a thing with broken light on object:

But this is probably because of UV or something like that (I actually don't know).

So, do anyone know what can cause this issue with lines? And, of course, how can it be fixed?


Alireza
Guest
Quote
2021-11-20 13:11:33

Have you tried the option "recalculate normals and tengents " ? It may solve your problem


dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-20 13:44:05

Yep, just tried this now and... Well, it did nothing.


Alireza
Guest
Quote
2021-11-20 14:19:41

Your mean is "the addition of lines that make triangles"?


dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-20 15:55:33

Not really understand the question, but I think yes.



Alireza
Guest
Quote
2021-11-20 16:25:38

If I understand your problem correctly. The answer is:
When you import the model, CopperCube automatically converts all squares into triangles.
If you do not get an answer, you can also raise your problem in Discord


dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-20 16:49:01

So, in theory, if I'll triangulate the model in Blender, this should be gone?
Edit: I tried this, and triangulating model in Blender doesn't help



dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-20 17:34:53

So, there is some stuff I found while experimenting with settings:


The things I left unchanged in this experiment:
-Resolution (500)
-Shadow opacity (0.8)
-Subsampling (25x, slightly reduced this problem)
-Ambient light, Smooth Normals and Color Bleeding (true)

Now, what I think, it can be caused because of UV. It looks like this:

I think that this can be like that because those squares lies too close to each other. Still, I'm not sure about that...


Guest
Guest
Quote
2021-11-20 22:30:50

@dekon




Try moving the light, reducing its radius, etc. You are going to have to experiment more with the lights to get the effect you want.


dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-21 10:40:36

Well, here's what I found. After simplifying model as hell and doing different UV, nothing really changed:


After doing more "research", I enabled all four anisotropic filters in irrEdit... thing. It kinda improves situation, but doesn't solve it.

And then, I tried to launch application in 800*600, windowed. For some reason, it got way better:


But this is 800*600. And windowed. And my resolution is 1920*1080, which is *slightly* higher.

Also, this thing happens even with built-in CopperCube room editor stuff:


After all of this, I still don't really understand the reason of problem. But I understand why one milkman once said:
Oh boi, it's time to bake some lights, f-f-f-FUU...



VP
Guest
Quote
2021-11-22 08:36:17

1- Is gouraud shading set to "on" in coppercube irrlicht settings?

2- Are you using normal maps or a parallel map for the Lightmapping?

Maybe those lines are actually being created by the normal map rather than the material/texture UV?


dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-22 09:26:12

Gourard shading is turned on, and no, I don't use normal maps for this (because I don't know how to do them), all the textures set on "Solid".


Guest
Guest
Quote
2021-11-22 19:23:06






@dekon

Try doubling the resolution to 2000, and see if that helps your problem.


dekon_17
Registered User
Quote
2021-11-23 07:12:48

Well, it actually helps! Still, it is good only for close quarters, because they now appear far from player, which means that you'll see them in open environment. But for now, I need it for indoors section, so, this helps me pretty much.

Thanks for help, Guest!

Edit: I also found that this resolution results in bad lightmapping at some places, so, don't know will it be good...



VP
Guest
Quote
2021-11-23 11:57:52

Are you using Dynamic or Static lighting?

If you're using static lighting, I recommend adding a normal map to the UV and then hit calculate lighting. The normal map tells the static lighting how to behave. Very simple to make a normal map from the texture image - I use some paid software but here's a free online normal map maker.

http://www.smart-page.net/smartn...

Without normal maps, I think you're probably better baking the shadows and then just use Dynamic lighting for the scene instead (I think Robo did a recent tutorials for this).


Create reply:


Posted by: (you are not logged in)


Enter the missing letter in: "I?ternational" (you are not logged in)


Text:

 

  

Possible Codes


Feature Code
Link [url] www.example.com [/url]
Bold [b]bold text[/b]
Image [img]http://www.example.com/image.jpg[/img]
Quote [quote]quoted text[/quote]
Code [code]source code[/code]

Emoticons


   






Copyright© 2020 Ambiera e.U. all rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Imprint | Contact